top of page
Search
  • maiajoyspeaks

Well, that didn't go according to plan...

Hello 2022!


Well, almost-June 2022. Whoops.


Remember that post-sabbatical bit I shared a while back? Well, it turns out life is crazy (who would've thought) and I couldn't come up with words for, like, two years. I just checked my last submission date on my super big spreadsheet and, I kid you not, it was 15 months ago. Time flies when you're trying desperately to cling to a semblance of normalcy in the midst of a global pandemic.


In the 1.5 years since I've last shared an update here (which, wow, it's uncomfortable to think it's been nearly two years since I started this whole journey), life has taken me through the wringer and back out the other side. I've met some lovely people, some people I really hope never to see again, have felt love and heartbreak and joy and pain, and have two more tattoos. I collected some unemployment, fell back into bad habits and landed back in recovery, learned to make some dope Chinese food, had an entire micro-career helping to run a mid-scale youth magazine, and somehow survived a year living in a basement apartment with, I kid you not, a slug infestation. It's been a crazy time.


That said, I don't think blogging is for me. I have too much ADHD to remember to do this shit all the time, and honestly, I've kinda got bigger fish to fry. But when I remember, I'd like to think that the negligible amount of readership this might someday get will appreciate getting to glimpse into my writer-life as the chaos unfolds.


In the words of my father on his scotch blog: Be well, be safe, be creative, my friends. Slainte!



~m.j

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

hello! big post-sabbatical updates

hello friends! it's been a while since i've last updated (well, since i returned to campus for the semester, and now back home... oops?) so here's to hopping on quickly with a few big updates. first t

big news.

okay, so this isn't *quite* the big news yet. this is more the light-announcement of the thing that will be the big news later on once i have more set in stone. nonetheless, i like to think it's prett

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page